Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The view out my windows this morning–puffy clouds, fragrant blooming lavender, a wild bunny nibbling at the edge of the lawn–announces, “Summer is here!”

Bunny 2

When seasons change, I’ve learned to appreciate the unexpected. As spring unfolded in 2013, we had unseasonable warm weather in April and record-breaking cold weather in May. While the Farmers’ Almanac predicted cool weather through June, we’ve had warm, sunny days, and signs of summer are everywhere.

The unexpected is evident in the garden as well as the weather. On the positive side, a clematis that I planted four or five years ago has finally decided to thrive. Grandkids have been excited to watch it inch up to the top of the fence, and now we’re looking for the first blossoms.

Back 6 13

 

On the negative side, the two peonies that flank my pale purple garden bench decided to pout this year. They sprouted on schedule, but stopped growing at about ten inches, and never set blooms. I enviously gaze at the fragrant, blowsy blooms on my neighbors’ peonies, and frown at my own. Would classical music help? Hymns? Maybe some Shakespeare?

The pace of my life has also changed with the seasons. Just a month ago, our household was expanded by five, including a day-old grandson. The easy access to cuddles and hugs from little ones more than makes up for scattered toys in the family room, random socks on the stairs, and soggy granola under the kitchen table. Now the move-out countdown has started, with renovation of their new place fully underway.

When seasons change, I often need to re-evaluate aspects of my life. As I look at the amount of time I spend on various relationships, tasks and responsibilities,  I’ve decided it’s time to take a sabbatical from blogging. While the  unexpected connections and responses from writing a blog have been enjoyable, at this season, it’s distracting me from higher priorities. I’m sure that there will be times I can’t keep quiet about what God is doing in our lives, but I’m releasing myself from the “have to” of blogging on a regular schedule. In order to focus on the best things, I need to set aside some good  things.

The words of Ephesians 1 in The Message confirm this to me, and I pray it for you also.

I ask (God) to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing (Christ) personally, your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly what it is he is calling you to do, (and) grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life he has for Christians…

This summer, let’s all live gloriously!Front door 6 13