Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

borŸrowed view (bŏr´rōd  vyoo)  „ n.  In landscaping, the design technique of including views beyond the garden.

The idea of a “borrowed view” has intrigued me since I first read of it in a landscaping book. In creating grand European gardens, designers often included far-reaching views of meadows, hills, or other topography. By “borrowing” features outside the garden, they created expansive panoramas or calming vistas.

As a country girl transplanted to the city, I love looking beyond the confines of our small fenced back yard and enjoying the open borrowed view of the sky and distant hills. Sometimes it’s a beautiful sunset, other times the sweeping flights of innumerable starlings heading for their evening roost across the river. If I look another direction, I see the glittering Columbia River, the city of Portland, and the purple hills beyond. I’m able to lift my eyes and my heart beyond the concerns and challenges of the moment and expand my perspective, bringing peace and rest to my soul.

But more than my physical borrowed view, I treasure the eternal borrowed view in my life: God’s love revealed through His personal love letter, The Bible. It’s an unchanging backdrop that has shaped my life, my thinking, my choices, my goals, my activities, my relationships.

Take a few moments and join me in looking at life from that eternal perspective—it’s a wonderful view!